Department of Regional Development announces new Chairman

Regional Development Minister Danny Kennedy has announced the appointment of David Dobbin as new Chair to the Board of Belfast Harbour Commissioners.

David Dobbin will take up this first appointment to the post of chair after having been a non-executive member of the Belfast Harbour Commissioners Board since 1 February 2012.

The appointment takes effect from 1 January 2015 for four years until 31 December 2018.

Minister Kennedy said:

“I am very pleased to announce this appointment today. David Dobbin will be able to hit the ground running. He is already well experienced in harbour matters and has a successful career in business.  I am confident that he will provide strong leadership and direction to Belfast Harbour and add tremendous value to the work of the Commissioners in the years ahead. Belfast Harbour is Northern Ireland’s principal maritime gateway and logistics hub. I am sure that the new Chair will maximise the potential of the harbour as a driver of growth and prosperity for Northern Ireland.”

The Minister also paid tribute to the outgoing Chair, Len O’Hagan, saying:

“I would also like to thank Len for the valuable contribution he has made to the Belfast Harbour Commissioners during his eight year tenure as Chair.”

This appointment has been made in accordance with the Commissioner for Public Appointments for Northern Ireland Code of Practice.