The Board

Board Members are appointed by the Department for Regional Development on the basis of open public advertisement. The number of Board members, including the Chairman and Chief Executive Officer, may be no less than ten and no more than fifteen and up to four Board Members shall be members of Belfast City Council.

The management of the Port of Belfast is independent of Government and falls to the Board and the management team. The duties of Board Members are akin to those of a company director, in particular to be accountable for the proper exercise of the statutory and administrative requirements placed upon them. In addition Board Members are required to:

  • Ensure high standards of corporate governance.
  • Establish the overall strategic direction of the Port having regard to the best interests of the Port and the local economy following consultation with key stakeholders.
  • Ensure that, in reaching decisions, Government policy and relevant guidance provided by the sponsor Department are taken into account.

Dr David Dobbin CBE


David Dobbin was appointed to the Board in 2012 and took up the position of Chairman in 2015. David is currently Group Chief Executive of United Dairy Farmers.  

David is Chairman of the Ulster Rugby Management Committee and has held a number of public and industry posts including Chairman of the Strategic Investment Board, Chairman of Inter Trade Ireland, Chairman of the Prince’s Trust NI, Chairman of CBI NI and President of the Northern Ireland Grain Trade.

David Dobbin

Roy Adair CBE

Chief Executive Officer

Roy Adair was appointed Chief Executive of Belfast Harbour in 2005. Roy previously held positions with Rothmans International; Flexibox International and was the CEO of Northern Ireland Quality Centre. He joined electronics group DDL Inc in 1994 to run Irlandus Circuits, a company which he bought in 1999.

Roy is involved as a Non-Executive in a range of organisations including the Prince’s Trust, BitC (as NI Chair), the UK Major Ports Group, the Offshore Wind Energy Council and Northern Ireland Centre for Economic Policy. He is President Emeritus of the General Stevedoring Council, chairs the Diaspora initiative, NI Connections, and Business in the Community NI, and has also served as Prince Charles’ Ambassador for Social Responsibility.

Roy Adair

Noel Brady

Board Member

Noel Brady was appointed to the Board in 2008. Noel is Managing Director of Consult Nb1 Limited, a business development consultancy which he founded in 2004. 

He is Chairman of Sentel Limited, which sells Telecommunications software solutions in the European market. He is an Honorary Fellow and Chairman of the Sales Institute of Ireland. Noel is a Board Member and Chairman of the Corporate Fund Raising Committee of the Simon Community in Northern Ireland

Noel Brady

Alderman David Browne MBE

Board Member

Alderman David Browne was appointed to the Board in 2005. In addition to being the former High Sheriff of Belfast, Alderman Browne is a member of several Belfast City Council Committees and Chairman of Grove Housing Association and was elected as Deputy Lord Mayor of Belfast in 2008.

David Browne

Dr Trefor Campbell CBE

Board Member

Dr Trefor Campbell was appointed to the Board in 2008. Trefor was formerly Managing Director and subsequently Non-Executive Chairman of Moy Park Ltd. Trefor is Patron and N.I. Council Member of the Prince’s Trust, Companion of the Chartered Management Institute, a Fellow of the Royal Society of Agriculture, a Fellow of the Royal Society for Arts & Commerce and a Liveryman of the Worshipful Company of Poulters. During 2013, Trefor was the Chairman of Belfast Harbour Pension Fund Ltd.

Trefor Campbell

Peter Dixon

Board Member

A lifelong gasman, Peter began his career as an Engineer in 1976 with The Gas Corporation in Liverpool. Having joined Phoenix Natural Gas as Commercial Director in 1997, he was appointed Chief Executive Officer in 2000. In 2003 Peter joined the Board of East Surrey Holdings plc. Peter is a Fellow of the Institute of Energy, a Companion of the Institute of Gas Engineers and Patron of the Energy & Utility Skills Council. He is Chairman of The South Belfast Economic Forum. He is also a Board member of Men Against Cancer, the Lord’s Taverners and the Winston Churchill Memorial Trust. 

Peter Dixon

Councillor Patrick Convery

Board Member

Councillor Patrick Convery is an elected member of Belfast City Council. He was reappointed to the Board of Belfast Harbour in 2012. Councillor Convery is a member of the Development, Parks & Leisure Committee and is Chair of North Belfast Policing and Community Safety Partnership. Councillor Convery served as Lord Mayor of Belfast from 2010 - 2011.

Patrick Convery

Councillor Thomas Haire

Board Member

Councillor Tom Haire was appointed to the Board in 2012. Councillor Haire was elected to the Belfast City Council in May 2011. He serves on the Strategic Policy and Resources Committee, Parks and Leisure Committee and the Town Planning Committee of the Belfast City Council. In addition, he represents the Council as a member of the Board of Visit Belfast and the George Best City Airport Forum.

Councillor Haire is Vice Chairman of the Board of Governors at Ashfield Boys High School and the Treasurer of the Ulster Scots Community Network.

Thomas Haire

Rotha Johnston CBE

Board Member

Rotha Johnston was appointed to the Board in 2012. Rotha is a partner in Johnston Partnership, a property investment business. She is a Pro Chancellor at Queen’s University Belfast, a Director of Northern Ireland Electricity, an independent Board member for the Department of Justice and Chair of NI Screen. 

In the past she has been BBC Trustee for Northern Ireland, Deputy Chairman of Invest NI and a Director of Variety Foods. She was also a Non-Executive Director and member of the Audit Committee at Allied Irish Bank (UK) Ltd. 


Rotha Johnson

Stephen Kingon CBE

Board Member

Stephen Kingon was appointed to the Board in 2012 and is the Principal at Stephen Kingon Associates. Currently he is the Chairman of the Balcas Group, the Centre for Competitiveness, Lagan Group Holdings Limited, Lagan Group Limited, Lagan Homes Holdings Limited and Northern Ireland Electricity Limited. In addition he is a Non-Executive Director of Allied Irish Bank UK plc and the Baird Group Limited.

He is also the Honorary Treasurer for Queen’s University, a member of the Chartered Accountants Regulatory Board and Chairman of the Action for Hearing Advisory Board. 

Stephen Kingon